Overview
Sometimes you need a permanent note on record for a client or client group that all team members need access to while carrying out their day-to-day tasks. Often it is key knowledge held by the long-standing employees that a new admin team member can’t possibly know about. Thereby resulting in errors being made inadvertently, simply because the information is not made available where needed. An example could be that for a specific client group "All invoices are to be sent to [email protected]" or “Send SMSF financials to personal email, not business email”. The client note register is all about saving these ad-hoc notes in one place, which can be referenced from within tools as and when required - As a starting point you’ll find the client notes within each detailed client page, mail register and correspondence register.
Overview
Client notes can be found within the client details page when viewing a client's contact card:
from the client notes section, you can add, edit or remove notes from a client. Further to this you can also choose whether to create a new custom note for a specific client or whether you want to select a note which is already used across the practice.
This note can then be pushed easily across the entire client group or to any other entity which may require this note:
Select the box "Select all entities in associated client groups" to push this note across everyone in the group.
The "Applied to" drop down allows you to further tailor who you want to push this note to and/or can be used to view which entities will have the note added to their client notes section.
Legacy User Interface
The Client Notes List Page
The Client Notes List Page is a list of every single note within the practice, whether it's specific to a client, client register entry or note. From here you can filter, sort and edit any and all client notes within the practice. The list page is accessed via the People list page Action Menu:
1. Create new client note
Select this to start the process of creating a brand new division 7a schedule
2. Filter, Actions & Client Group
This area has 3 components
Search & Filter: The magnifying glass enables you to search and filter by any of the below columns.
Actions:
Create New: As Per above this creates a new EF schedule.
Deleted Selected: Permanently deletes with no hope of recovery (Only available to practice admins)
Archive Selected: Gets the selected out of sight once completed, But always retrievable.
Unarchive Selected: Restores any archived schedules; Need first to check the "Show archived" at the bottom of the page though.
Client Group - here you can specifically select a client group that you would like to filter the below by; Useful if you're working on a particular group and just want to see what notes apply to the entities within the group.
3. The list...
This is a snapshot of all current Client Notes being utilised across the practice.
Checkbox - Enables you to select multiple notes to delete, archive, unarchive or post bulk journals.
Note - This is simply the details of the client note.
Applied to - This is any clients that the note has been applied to.
Specific to - This identifies where a note has been made specific to a client record and which tool. Selecting this will take you to the applicable record.
4. Actions Column
These are the actions available to you for each client note.
3 Dot Menu - appears on mouseover at the end of the row.
Edit - Selecting this will open the finance schedule for editing.
Archive - Selecting this will open the finance schedule for editing.
Delete - Selecting this will open the finance schedule for editing.
General Variables & Input Fields
Where are they found?
Client notes can be found in multiple areas across AccountKit. In each location you have the option of creating, editing or removing a client note.
Client Notes Register - Full list of client notes accessed via the action menu on the people page
Client Detail Page - At the bottom of the Client Details area.
Within Tools (presently just Mail Register & Correspondence Register)
Anywhere you see and click on the icon, you can preview, edit, add or remove a client note by where you'll see a list of all notes applicable to that record and / or client. Keep reading below for more details.
What's in a Client Note
A client note is very simple in its layout, but it's important to understand what each element means.
1. Note
This is the detailed note that you want to share about a client.
2. Options
Your only option here is to elect whether you want to "Keep note specific to record". This only applys when a note is being utilised within a tool like the Mail Register. Use this where you don't want the note to appear in the general client notes or anywhere else within AccountKit.
3. Applied to
This is any clients that you want the note to apply to.
If "Keep note specific to record" is selected, this field will be disabled as the note can only be applied to the one client that the note is being locked to.
Otherwise, you can filter and select as many clients as you like. Useful if you want to just apply it certain entities within the family group OR across any entities across your practice.
4. Link documents
If you have a DMS attached, you can elect to link back to a source document relevant to that note. For example, it could be a PDF of an email from a client request.
See the DMS help area for more details.
5. History
Like other areas in AccountKit, this simply tracks the history of how the note has changed over time. It's your audit history to see who's changing things within the system.
See Shared Elements for more information.
Specific v's Non-Specific Notes
As identified above, sometimes you will have a note that you want to be visible to all users in relation to a particular entry into a tool without it then being visible and messing up your general client notes. By selecting this option, it will only be saved and visible within that particular register entry.
Where used, you will see a icon which upon mouse-over will let you know that this particular client note is specific to that particular record and won't be visible anywhere else.
Keep note specific NOT selected
NO padlock showing
Visible within Client Detail page
Available to all clients
Keep note specific selected
Padlock showing
NOT visible within Client Detail page
NOT available to all clients
Creating or Linking to a client note
From within the client notes register, client detail or client notes pop-up you have the option of creating a client note by selecting the icon.
Start to type into the Note field - if a note pre-exists, you can elect to select that note OR you can choose to create a new note on the spot.
You can then choose whether to make the note specific to that particular record. Note that you can only do this when adding a note to a tool entry, not within the client record. If you make it specific, it will disable the "Applied to" field as it will lock the note to that entry and therefore client.
If it's NOT a register specific note, then you can choose which clients you want to apply a record to.
By default, it selects the current client.
Upon opening the clients drop-down, it will show all clients in the group of that client. You can choose a few of those clients OR choose to select them all; OR
If you would like to choose outside the family group, simply start typing to search within your full client list.
Optionally you can then link back to a source document at this point (or in the future) as well.
Press save, to save it to the register + apply it to that record.
Edit or Unlinking a client note
Similar to creating a note, you can unlink a client note from within the client notes register, client detail or client notes pop-up.
Client Notes Register
Select the note to edit it, un-tick the client from the Applied to field
Edit the details as required
Press save
Client Detail Page
To remove, simply press the at the end of the client note (Note that this doesn't delete the note, it just removes it from that client.)
To edit, simply press the icon
Within Tools (presently just Mail Register & Correspondence Register)
Open the client notes pop-up by pressing
To remove, simply press the at the end of the client note (Note that this doesn't delete the note, it just removes it from that client.)
To edit, simply press the icon
Related Links
Check out this link for various elements shared throughout the various toolsets.
Follow this link see how you can customise the Franking Register Types.
