Skip to main content

User Management

How to add, edit, archive, disable, and monitor users in AccountKit, including user roles and login history.

Overview

The User Management page is used to control user access, add new users, and assign their user roles and client access rights across your practice.

IMPORTANT! - IF you are looking for information on User Permissions including restricted access groups, Guest Access and the like, can be found in the User Permissions article.

User management

To access the user management interface please head to your profile icon in the bottom right-hand of the browser:

User Management How to access.gif

The user management page is the central location for administering users within AccountKit. Here you can add new users, block current users, reset users' 2FA and monitor their access.

blobid1.png

1. Create New User

Click this icon to create a new user.

2. List Headers

  • Name - User's Name

  • Role - Role within AccountKit

  • Email - Also user's Username

  • Mobile - User's Mobile number

  • Last Login - User's last login

3. Xero Practice Manager Logo

Where this icon is showing, it's letting you know that this user is mapped to a user in XPM.

4. Status

denotes the user is Active, Denotes the User is Not Active.

blobid5.png

blobid5.png

Click to Disable, Archive or Unblock the user. Unblock is used when a user has locked themselves out by inputting the wrong password too many times.

blobid5.png

blobid3.png

5. MFA

Clicking

blobid7.png

enables you to reset the users Multifactor Authentication (otherwise known as two-factor authentication)

blobid6.png

User roles

These roles set some broad authorities as to whether a user can access and edit certain areas of the software. Multiple roles can be assigned to users with the idea being that once a role has been assigned, they'll be available for assigning in other areas. For example, if assigned a partner or manager role, the user can then be assigned these roles specific to a client entity.

Note: In time we'll be working on User permissions which will enable more flexibility in this space.

Practice Admin

Full Access, usually a Practice Manager or Partner. It is recommended that you have 1 - 3 Practice Admin users depending on the size of the firm.
Users can access everything about the practice and clients along with assigned access rights; Can also set up / disable all user types.

Partner

Users can do most things that a Practice Administrator can, but can’t access Practice Settings and is unable to set up or edit Partner or Practice Administrator roles.

Manager

User can do most things that a Partner can, but can’t access Practice Settings and is unable to set up or edit Manager, Partner or Practice Administrator roles. The main purpose of this role is the ability to assign a user the manager role for a specific client entity.

Employee

User can only open and edit authorised client groups but is unable to delete anything, set up or edit users or edit practice settings

Adding a new user

To add a new user, click on Your Name (bottom left corner) > User Management, then click on the + sign at the top of the screen, to "Add new employee" (or new guest). Screenshots below for reference.

From here, follow the prompts to complete user details and click on Send Invite. They'll receive an email with instructions to setup a password and login.

blobid3.png

1. Employee Details

  • Name - The user's first and last name.

  • Email / User Name - This is the user's email address, as well as their login user name.

  • Mobile Phone Number - Add the user's mobile phone number. (Optional)

  • Phone Number - Add the user's landline phone number (optional)

  • Birthday - When the user's birthday is added, it will show on the birthday dashboard to let everyone know and that way the practice can celebrate together. (Optional)

2. Access Level

Select the level of authority you would like the user to have. See 'User Roles' above for further details about the differences between roles.

3. Profile Picture

Add the user's profile picture which will be displayed when they're logged in and across shared screens such as the Workflow tool.

4. Time Zone

This enables correct date stamping of any work completed within AccountKit.

5. Reports To

Identify who the user reports to (Optional)

6. Send Invite

This will email the user their sign-in details.

You need to be a Practice Admin or Partner to be able to add or edit user profiles.

Editing a current user incl. archive and disable Users

Editing A User Profile

To edit the user's details, select their profile by clicking on their name. See below.

mceclip1.gif

Archiving, Disabling, Unblocking and Resetting MFA.

From the User Management list page, choose the client you wish to edit and navigate to the right-hand side of the screen under the Status and Actions column. Here you'll have the option to Archive, Unarchive, Unblock or Restrict the Client and Reset MFA. See below.

mceclip2.gif

'Archive User' will disable the user and is used when an employee no longer works for the firm. 'Disable User' is used when an employee is suspended or on leave for a long period of time. You need to be a Practice Admin or Partner to be able to add or edit user profiles.

User logging

The practice administrator is able to review all user logs within each user's page or from the action menu under User Management; This enables you to monitor key events for each of your users for information security purposes. See Below.

Events captured include device and IP address:

  • Successful login attempts

  • Failed login attempts

  • Account blocked due to too many failed login attempts

  • Unblocking event

  • Disabling / Enabling of account

  • Changing of password

  • Reset of 2FA

  • A download of client-sensitive data (client list or ATO lodgement list)

Individual User's History

mceclip3.gif

Practice Wide User History Register

Editing your profile

Each user has the ability to edit their own profile. An example of this is if they'd like to update their name after marriage or they've changed phone numbers etc. Start by selecting your name and profile at the bottom left-hand side of the screen.

blobid15.png

1. Employee Details

These are your details. You can update all of these details as you see fit. However, the Access level can only be changed by a Practice Admin.

2. History

This is your own user activity.

3. User Settings

Here you can reset your own MFA and Enable/Disable the Xero log in which is enabled by default.

4. Integrations

This is where you can see the integrations the practice has been authorised to use. Each user must sign into the integration using their own credentials so these icons will most likely be greyed out simply hover over the line and you'll notice the three-dot menu to the right-hand side. Click this and click connect to sign in using your own credentials.

blobid19.png

5. Save, Save & Close, Cancel

These are associated with the shared elements throughout AccountKit.

Changing your password

Whilst on your profile page, select the Change Password button shown below and follow the prompts.

Note: Please take note of the password requirements. This is to maintain maximum security against cyber attacks.

Related Links

Check out this link for various elements shared throughout the various toolsets.

Follow this link to see how you can customise the Franking Register Types.

This page will take you through how to connect to and utilise any number of cloud-based storage systems.

Did this answer your question?